Question of the Day: Are you a Stay at Home Mom or Dad(SAHM/D) or a Working Mom/Dad?

Are you a SAHM/D or working Mom/Dad?  How did you decide?  Are you happy with your choice?

These are questions each family has to answer when they find out about a new addition to the family.  Some families choose to have Mom stay home, Some for Dad to stay home and for some families both parents have to work.  Some families make the decision based on financial obligations and others out of personal preference.  It is one of the biggest decisions soon to be parents have to make, be it the first baby or additional children.  Maybe you decide to go back to work for baby #1 but come baby #2 you decide to stay home.  Each time a new addition is made to the family the decision has to be made.

My Answer:

Once the shock from finding out I was 24 weeks pregnant wore off and we were able to really crunch numbers and make our decision.  Our first decision was that I would work in the evenings but we would still need to have daycare for a couple of hours a day.  All that eventually went out the window.  We decided that I would stay home with the little guy after my 5 month recovery and a failed attempt at going back to work.  In reality our LO made the decision for us.  my first day back to work I got call a call to come home because the little guy had been screaming for an hour.  I was so scared something was wrong so I raced home and the little guy calmed down almost the instant he heard my voice.  Poor Daddy he was beside himself.  this happened the next 3 days that I worked.  After that we decided I needed to be home with him all the time.  Our little guy is 14 months old now and he is such a good boy.  I love that I have been able to be with him every day.  Even though some times I really need a break and that is where my mom’s group has been my lifesaver.  We plan “mom’s night out” nights where we meet for dinner or some of us just pop in for a bit just to get out of the house.  If I had to do it again I wouldn’t have tried to go back to work at all.  What I have done is start this blog, reviewing products and creating my own line of products.

2 thoughts on “Question of the Day: Are you a Stay at Home Mom or Dad(SAHM/D) or a Working Mom/Dad?

What are your thoughts?

