Post Boston Bombing – What kind of world will my son grow up in?

Boston Strong

 

I was sitting here watching my son play today and I really wonder what type of world is he going to grow up in.  It is crazy, I think back to when I was little and the world seemed like it was so much more peaceful in the 80’s and early 90’s.  I remember learning of great wars like WWI, WWII, Korean War, Vietnam War, “Bay of Pigs”(not really a “war” but major war event), Civil War, and Revolutionary War to mane a few.  It seems like we have had just as many wars since the early/mid 1990’s and they have been going ever since.  What would it take for everyone to just suck it up and get along?

In the wake of the Boston Marathon Bombings that happened April 15, 2013 I wonder about our safety during public events.  My heart broke when I heard of the innocent lives that have ended and/or been altered due to the actions of 2 young men.  How does someone get filled with so much hate.  I think I am a bit naive when it comes to many things like this.  I try to see the good in everyone and everything but during times like these it is really hard to see the positive.  What is sad to me is why does it take such a tragedy to bring a community and nation together?  I like to believe in the innocence of the world and I know that frame of mind makes me seem like I live in a dream world.  In honesty, why can’t the world be peaceful?  The men and women who helped in the process from the first respondors to the ones who did the final capture are heroes in my book.  May we never forget this week or terror and may the spirit of unity thrive in our community and beyond.  We rest easy tonight knowing that the emergency personnel in this fine country work round the clock to protect us and help to keep us safe during times of tragedy and during the calm days.

It makes me sad to think that my son won’t have a choice about being in the military, even though I would love it if he was able to join and it be a peaceful time.  It just seems like the new generation of children are going to have it tough.  Who cares where you are from, what you look like, or who you love … Why can’t we all just get over ourselves and love each other as human beings?  Maybe I should have been born centuries ago but it really seems like a much more violent world now.

I remember being able to leave my house, ride my bike all day and all over with the rule I had to be home before dark.  I would never let my son do that now.  too many kids go “missing” these days it is scary.  Oh man, so much to worry about in the future my little man has before him.

What are your thoughts?

