Another Lack of Lactation Hormone Adjustment Day

WOW  Today was a blast!!  And I mean that in the good and bad way.  LOL  My little guy really keeps a smile on my face when I start to feel sad.  I am sure these emotions are all post lactation hormones getting back on track.  So here is a peek into my day.

Woke up like normal.  OK super 5:30 am and the little guy is wide awake and ready to play.  I am thinking “awe, gee Robert, couldn’t you have slept just 30 more minutes?” we do our new normal morning routine which is get him from his crib, let him play for a few minutes BEFORE changing his diaper because if I don’t I get an unwanted “shower” of toddler pee.  So, I have learned my lesson after about 3 mornings of repeat.  In my defense it was also the first 3 mornings he was up at 5 o’clock in the morning.  I take the time to start the water to make Sean his morning coffee, get Robert his milk and make him some breakfast.  I let him eat while I finish making Sean’s french press coffee and his lunch for the day.  Once that is complete I go into Robert’s room, change his diaper, get him dressed for the day and play with him for a bit.  about 45 minutes later he is usually ready for his first nap.  Do you think I can nap at this point? NOT A CHANCE!!  So, I spend the time picking up the living room from the mess he made the night before because I was too tired before bed to do it.  Perfect, my turn to sit and relax.  ahhhh

As I am relaxing I was looking for a picture and came across an article about Venezuela and how they want to ban baby bottles.  I started to cry, but I will explain that in more detail in tomorrow’s post about my view on their ban proposal.  That was just the start.  Then I decided I would watch one of the movies I had put on hold, Bully the movie.  What a sad documentary, and I cry to think of what a world Robert will have to grow up in.  bullying isn’t just name calling or a fist punch it can go viral via social media and the internet.  My heart breaks for what kids have to go through these days.  I know that most kids aren’t bullied, but it now seems like a parent’s worst nightmare.  Thankfully he woke up and we took a nice long 3.5 hour long walk.  That got my blood pumping and cleared my head.

When we got home he looked up at me and gave me a huge hug and cuddled there.  I cried for a moment because my baby was not a baby anymore.  he is a little boy and cuddling because he wants to and not because he needs to.  And then I smile and my heart fills with so much joy to see how he is becoming this little person.  then in a split second as I go out the door to put something in the recycling it is baby meltdown like his world is ending.  I am talking to him the whole time I step out the door and as I come back in he toddles over to me in a semi-run (he is just learning to walk so it isn’t like a normal kid run) crashes into me and tells me “STOP!  STOP!”.  My heart broke for him.  He didn’t understand that I was still there and I was coming back in.  poor thing.  This of course made me feel horrible like he spends too much time with me but I keep reminding my self that if he didn’t act that way then maybe I should worry that I wasn’t paying him enough attention.

So today was a day filled with lots of tears for no real reason other than being a little over sensitive.  I sure hope he sleeps in a little longer tomorrow…  But I am not holding my breath.  HAHA….

What are your thoughts?

