My New Adventure as a Mystery Shopper

I watched an episode on the Katie Show about a month ago about how a girl paid for her student loans by doing mystery shopping.  So I thought there had to be a catch, right?  So I did a little research and found MSPA North America.  I have never enjoyed something so much.  My first few shops were perfect.  I was beginning to wonder if I wasn’t going to have a “bad shop”.  Maybe I was too lenient.  Then it happened, I had my first bad shop and to top it off it was the store manager of the place I had to rate poorly.  Overall it has been so much fun.  I joined an agency where I shop places of entertainment and Robert and I get to enjoy fun things while I make money doing something we would do anyway.  Another nice thing about doing these is I can do them when I travel too.  I am loving it but i need to find a way to balance everything in my life.  That is the tricky part.

There are easy shops that can be done from home that are only a quick phone call or a web evaluation.  The ones from the house pay between $4.00 – $6.00 for 5 minutes of my time.  Most of the surveys are quick.  I have learned that the shops that pay the most generally have the longest and most detailed surveys with a bunch of narratives.  I did a big one that required a 7 hour evaluation and the survey took about 6 hours to complete the pay was about $115 for my time and 4 free tickets to return in the future.  That is awesome because now we have 2 free family trips there.  AMAZING.  Most of the shops break down to about $0.50 per minute (or $30.00/hour).  Not a bad way to bring in a little extra cash.

If you’re interested in doing mystery shopping in your area:

What are your thoughts?

