Road Trip Success

I had the car loaded and ready to go for our departure first thing in the morning.  I had all kinds of good stuff for us to listen to from Marbles’ Brain Beats, Katy Perry, Disney nursery rhymes, VNV Nation, Wumpscut, Dimmu Borgir, jewel’s lullabies and a bi-lingual toddler book on tape.  I learned real quick he was on with the nursery rhymes cd once by round 2 he was ready for something new.  He would sing along to just about everything.  As for activities for him to do I didn’t leave anything out.  I had everything packed from a new stuffed crab to give him if he got “crabby” to a few of his favorite toys.  I had the iPad loaded with a couple of Disney short films and Thomas the Train story collection, or so I thought.  We were about 2 hours away from our destination and we stopped at a rest area so I could pop in the video.  OH BOY was I surprised when I went to pull up Thomas and it said “Unable to load video”.  WHAT, But I tested it and it played fine at the house???  Apparently it didn’t finish downloading completely.  grrrrr  So here I was 2 hours away and my plan was derailed.  But not to fret because within about 20 minutes he fell asleep again and was out for about 40 more minutes.

He didn’t even need the movie he had his favorite monkey, his sippy cup, his cup of goldfish, and his Leap Frog “Scout” dog and he was perfectly happy the entire trip.  Only a couple of times he didn’t want to get in the car but it was nothing once I got him in and handed him Mr Monkey he was fine.  I have been blessed with a very good traveler.  Thankfully Daddy will arrive before we have to travel back home and he will ride back with us.

The next solo trip is a 24 hour trip down the coast to Florida to see the grandparents in the wintertime.  That will be the next adventure.

 

What are your thoughts?

