Non Chemical Solution to Bleaching a Porcelain Sink and more…

Cream of Tartar and White Vinegar together make an amazing whitener.

I really should have taken before and after pictures, maybe next time. I have a porcelain sink in the kitchen that had been stained from tea & coffee. Just the normal build up. I wash it out as I do dishes but it doesn’t seem to stop the stains. Since I bathe R in the sink I hate using bleach on it. I had used vinegar and baking soda but it always seemed a little slimy after I rinsed it out.

So I tried Cream of tartar and vinegar. Here is how I did it:

  1. I took my Cream of tartar and shook it into the sink, enough to coat the bottom.
  2. I then took my scrubby part of the sponge and worked it into the sink.
  3. I could see the stains coming up in the color of the cream of tartar. AMAZING
  4. I grabbed the white vinegar and poured a very small amount in the sink and worked it in with the cream of tartar.
  5. I let it sit for a couple of minutes and then rinsed it out.

I was impressed most of the discoloring was gone but it wasn’t until after the sink air-dried that I noticed there were no more stains. Waiting for the air dry to judge the final appearance is worth the wait.  The same solution worked on the stove too.

 

What are your thoughts?

