Breastfeeding Wednesday – Sore Nipples

Sore Nipples…  WOW  I remember those.  When I started nursing my nipples would be sore.  Mainly because I never breast-fed before and the little guy was new to eating.  I thought once he got a good latch the soreness would go away and sometimes it seemed like it did.  Here are some things I did to help relieve the pain and what types of pain I was having.

Chapped Nipples – It seemed like the little guy lived on my boobs for the first 4 months of his life.  When my nipples would get chapped I used nipple butter at first, mainly because it was a baby shower gift.  But after joining a mommy support group one of the moms said how she used coconut oil.  I thought that sounded weird but what the heck I needed relief.  I went to the store and bought a jar of organic extra virgin coconut oil.  It worked fabulously, my nipples were softening up and I wasn’t worried about harmful chemicals on my skin or my little guy ingesting it.

Sore from Breastfeeding – Cool compresses worked wonders.  If the hospital I was given 2 circular gel filled pads I could use to help elevate the soreness.  When those wore out I went to the dollar store and bought 4 round kiddie ice packs.  I put them in the fridge to make them cold because I didn’t want them to be frozen.  On the plus side, I now have 4 ice packs for the kiddo when he falls and gets a bump.

Diet Changes – A friend suggested adding more citrus and vitamin C into my diet.  So I ate more Kale, Broccoli (that made my little one have gas), oranges, lemons, pineapple and limes.  Not sure if it helped or just helped to keep me healthy.

Questions submitted here go directly to my email

What are your thoughts?

