Food Friday – Paleo Diet – Day 1

Today we started our new diet plan.  Thanks to a couple of friends who have started it and have had great success even in as little as 3 days.  They are my inspiration!!  And thanks to the NOM NOM PALEO iPad app for the iPad for the mouth-watering recipes, best $5.99 I have spent on a cooking app yet.  The Nom Nom Paleo website is a wonderful resource tool as well.

Breakfast was a scrambled egg with bacon, garlic, and herb seasoning.

Lunch we had diced chicken and kale

Dinner was a delicious Salad with various greens, tomatoes, red peppers, onions, bacon and kale.  YUM YUM YUM…

It was a pretty easy day but I have been warned the carb cravings will kick in soon and to ignore them the best that I can.  Good thing is I keep thinking of the health benefits of having a low GI diet.  I have hopes that this diet will help my body not need the thyroid medication anymore.  I know it won’t happen over night but I sure am looking forward to a few weeks from now when I go back to the Dr for a check up.  In addition to the new diet we (my 2yr old & I) are working out at the YMCA 5 days a week.

What are your thoughts?

