Food Friday – Paleo check in week 1 complete

We are officially one week into our Paleo Venture and it has been an exciting week.  Carb cravings weren’t too bad but the sugar cravings were a little more noticeable.  I have cut my caffeine as well.  I learned some interesting things…

I thought with a reduced amount of caffeine  intake I would be tired and sluggish…  NOPE, full of energy. WIN

I didn’t know the difference between grass-fed Angus Beef or grass-fed “regular” Beef.. Main difference to me was Angus ground beef only had 1 Tbsp of fat when I made meatloaf and it didn’t shrink in the pan.  I hate the grease from meat, I never know what to do with it.  The Angus Beef was moist and had a smooth texture.  WIN and WIN

Shopping the first couple times has been a long process because I have to read everything.  I also notice just because a package meat says “organic” doesn’t mean it is grass-fed.  Is there really a difference?  Yes, after only 1 week of meal prep and cooking with grass-fed meats I have noticed they are all less fatty.  The chicken breast was a bit on the dry side but that can be fixed next time by changing the preparation technique.

Over all I am happy to report that I feel better over all and have more energy than I did before the diet adjustments.  My 2 year old will eat all the Kale Chips if I don’t give him his own bowl.  We are off to a good start and it wasn’t that hard to do.

What are your thoughts?

