Potty Training and Sensory Issues

We have been potty training for about a year now. I am ready to be done with diapers. I know my son can do this but he has sensory issues. I don’t even know how to get over this hurdle other than the hope that one day it will just happen.

He has no problem going potty with no accidents if he is completely naked.  He will stop playing, jump up and run to his potty.  He will pee and poop in his potty with no issue.  He detests the feel of undies and freaks out when I try to put them on him.  If he has pull ups on he will just pee and poop in them.

The worse part of this who process is that he doesn’t care if he is sitting in his poop, never has cared about it.  When he was a baby he never cried because he was wet or stinky.  I always had to go by his facial expressions and smell.  Now he is almost 3.5 years old.  I was feeling hopeful one day he asked to wear his undies and even had them on for about 2 hours.  I was asking him every 15 minutes if he needed to go potty and he did one time.  I noticed a wet spot on the carpet and asked him to come over.  Sure enough he had peed and kept on playing.  I didn’t scold him but I did take the moment to teach him that he needs to pee in his potty because big kid undies don’t hold pee.

I know he wont go off to college in diapers but it feels like a constant struggle potty training him.  I know he can do it but he wont.  Let the battle continue …

What are your thoughts?

